Student should study local history instead of world history. Do you agree or disagree?

Over the past few decades, history learning has never failed to draw public attention in many countries around the world. Some people believe that the role of local history to children over that of world history, I completely disagree with this point of view.

In fact, local history is an indispensable part of school’s curriculum for children. Is patriotic escalation that having thorough insights into what happen in the past at one’s locality has brought. Vietnamese, for example, are taught at primary school about how their ancestors defended again invaders and reclaimed sovereignty. Thus, those young children would take pride in their origin and treasure the life they know as it is today. Besides, I believe that it is not only privileged but also responsibility for children to understand their culture values and identity.

In the other hand, it is true that world history shares equally crucial just as local one for young people. Acquiring knowledge of world’s past events would equip learner well-round perspective of life. For example, lesson about World War or feminism protest again women’s abuse and discrimination does have a potential to foster greater understanding variety aspects of life. Furthermore, young people who being taught other country historical backgrounds would be benefited in future. In other words, people accumulating knowledge of this particular field by early age would possess a golden selling point to work at foreign enterprises.

In conclusion, apart from aforementioned features above, I reaffirm that both domestic and international historical background are distinctively equal meanings for children.