few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is it a positive or negative development?

Over the last few decades, some global languages such as english, chinese or spanish is gaining the popularity all over the world. Some people think that this trend has a constructive effect on societies while others claim that it is in tandem with the loss of other cultures. My essay will explain both sides of this issue.

On the one hand, the dominance of few global languages may bring about a great deal of benefits in many fields. Economically speaking, this trend can ease the trading and communication. In other words, businessmen who know english are statistically more prosperous in their business due to the fact that they could cooperate and communicate with their counterparts overseas. Another tangible advantage is that students have more opportunities to integrate with a reservoir of knowledge and skills stemming from developed countries. No sooner do they sign in for english course than they are able to gain scholarships to broaden their horizons and start a new life from scratch.

On the other hand, ample drawbacks are seen in this tendency. It is indisputable that the ubiquity of one language is tantamount to the loss of cultural identity of several nations. Examples are noticed only when numerous youngsters attach importance to Western culture by singing international songs, wearing western clothes and attending global occasions more often are traditional values and identity faded away gradually in the young generations’ thoughts and consciences. Besides, this trend can adversely affect to the next generation. For example, people from English-speaking countries spare no money learning foreign courses and become more arrogant because they believe that their language and culture are prevalent and superior to others. Consequently, this can render people of other nations the feeling of being discriminated and subservient.

In conclusion, in conjunction with the efforts of integrating the development of the world, people should be acutely aware of preserving their mother tongue.