Fewer people are reading books these days, therefore, we should close all libraries and use the funds for something more urgent. Do you agree or disagree?
The proliferation of digital and technological revolution has cast a dark cloud over readership on the
whole, leading to a drastic decline in library visits throughout the world. As a result, there are some
stances indicating that governments should stop allocating subsidies to libraries and that such
investment should be spent on more pressing issues. From my perspective, I am strongly against the
idea since libraries can still be deemed as one of the most invaluable service for the well-being of the
communities.
To begin with, libraries are a powerful conduit that bring communities together, providing a safe
place for individuals to learn, to explore and interact. Libraries can also create incentives to a strong
learning and healthy environment by offering patrons with the best search engines and unlimited
source of knowledge. Additionally, they can be valuable partners in helping students with improving
their academic performance and deterring them from menacing activities outside the classrooms.
More importantly, many local libraries worldwide have undergone many transformation and
innovation in order to keep pace with the rapid technology-fueled world. No longer do libraries
contain only bookshelves and conventional reading materials but now they are also being outfitted
with computer systems with internet access, video projectors,... Therefore, libraries are now
currently embracing new technology and advancement which will further fulfill the needs of users
while still holding onto traditional values.
Last but no least, to put funding restraints on libraries is to entrench inequality as well as to pave the
way for illiteracy. In fact, libraries are a sanctuary that allow any individual from any income level or
economic background to access the same breadth of information at no expense. In the same vein, a
library located in struggling and poverty-stricken neighborhoods can help revitalize the area by
offering the underprivileged with the opportunity to broaden their knowledge and learn myriad of
technological skills.
All things considered, libraries still prove to be an intergral part of society which enhance literacy,
social empowerment and youth development. For that reason, the closure of libraries around the
world, stemming from the funding cuts, will eventually lead to a deprived local culture and the
substantial loss of humanity's legacy.