With the rise in popularity of the internet, newspapers will soon become a thing of the past.
To what extent do you agree or disagree?
The dawn of the internet and media has cast a shadow over the newspapers industry in recent
years, hence lead to a significant decline in readership worldwide. Due to this upheaval,many people
believe that newspapers will likely to become an outdated source of information in the long run.
However, from my standpoint. I assert that the belief stated above is somehow false, since the
newspapers can offer many privileges and distinguished features that cannot possibly be found on
digital flatforms, which makes many people around the world still stick to printed newspapers.
First and foremost, pieces of news nowadays are mainly being transmitted in the form of pictures,
videos, recordings, etc.,..Although seeing and hearing are two of the most effective mediums, it is
reading that can augment our knowledge to the fullest and create a better impact. In other words, it
is safe to say that we tend to be more well-informed and have a better chance of remembering
information when we read newspapers in print, as opposed to reading news off screens.
Likewise, it has been proven that newspapers have the ability to provide readers with a sensation
of sastisfaction and serendipity when they stumble across a well-written article, which will kindle a
spark of excitement and amenity in them. Moreover, unlike printed newspapers, online newspapers
usually contains a lot of advertisements, shocking headlines or eye-catching layouts, which may
deter people from focusing on what they are supposed to be looking for in the first place, making them
miss out some valuable information.
Last but not least, although online source of information share innumerable conveniences, there is
still a section of population still subscribes and reads printed newspapers everyday, for it has
become an unchangeable ritual habit for them. Not to mention, there are still many people
throughout the wolrd whose income can not cover all the daily expenses, let alone a modern device.
So newspapers can still be deemed as the most compatible option to obtain information.