The speeding up of life in some fields like travel and communications are having a negative effect on our society at the individual, national and international levels. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today, in the modern world of instantaneous communications

and high-speed travel, the tempo of life has accelerated immensely. There has been

some stances stating that this phenomenon may have a detrimental impact on

society on a personal, national and global scale. In my opinion, i partially agree

with the notion, because despite the problem it arises, this sensation also has

numerous economical merits which are beneficial for a country’s welfare.

First and foremost, from a personal perspective, with the mounting workload and a

poor work-life imbalance , quick tempo of life wreaks havoc on people’s health

and relationships. Spending more and more time studying and working hard in

such competitive environment to enhance their future prospects, hardly do people

have enough time to take proper care of themselves. They are also highly prone to

stress, pressure and frustration due to the demands and expectations of a fast-action

society. Furthermore, a busy schedule can deter individuals from spending time

with their peers and families, eventually leading to many shortcomings in

interaction and social skills as well as breaking families apart.

At the same time, on a national scale, the advancement of means of travelling and

communication opens avenues for a sustainable economy. Transportation is one of

the most fundamental sectors of the economy since it enhances connection between

businesses and their markets, provides accessibility and increases opportunities for

trading and cooperation between nations. Additionally, apart from transportation,

communication system is deemed as one of the primal contributors to the

prosperity of a nation. It helps industrialists and business communities to take right

decisions at right time by providing them information and news related with the

business. What is more, communication also helps citizens develop their social

capital and achieve social equality by providing education and raise awareness

among communities.

Finally, the increasing pace of life, reflected in many environmental and political

aspects, is causing great trouble to humans. The rapid process of globalization has

resulted in severe exploitation of natural resources as well as the deterioration of

the environment. More importantly, many countries are inventing more dangerous

war weapons to keep pace with the global development and compete for

supremacy throughout the world. Many arm races have posed existential threat to

human kind, hence, endanger world peace and security.

In conclusion, life in a fast lane is clearly a double-edged sword as this trend can

motivate society to reach for new capacities or potentials, yet it still bears many

menacing risks. While governments must seek for different measures to mitigate

its profound effects, individuals should also learn how to slow down their hectic

life and start approaching obligations and responsibilities with a more natural

rhythm.