Fewer young people choose to work in farming. What are the reasons? Should young people be encouraged to do farming work?

There is a growing concern that the young are avoiding farming work. There are several causes of the development. In my opinion, young people should definately be motivated to work on farms.

The depiction of farmers on media and attatchment of farmers to porvety and difficulties may have negative impacts on the young people. The first point of view is that young people may not engage in farming job because they assume that agricultural work is physically demanding and less appealing than other trendy jobs. Throughout the history, farming is attatched to the images of cattle, and people manually accumulating their crops. However, this thinking does not reflect the reality of modern agriculture anymore. Farmers nowadays are harnessing technology such as state-of-the-art irrigation system, automated tractors, and robots to collect their crops. In addition, mass media and social platforms ofen favor certain jobs to others which may distort the fact that farming is also an important profession. To illustrate, jobs in technology, finance and health sectors normally appear as extravagant and lucrative on media, which may be more appealing to young job seekers than labor-intensive work on farms. Finally, some young minds may think that farming work tends to provide people with less income than other industry. Given the increasing connections of nations and regions through upgraded transportation systems, agricultural products are now able to be sold globally, which brings more money for farmers. Thus, farming is an honorable work and can produce a large income for people.

There are many benefits associated with working on farms for the young. This includes merits for themselves and their community. First, the lack of human resources in the agricultural sector implies that employers would pay a higher salary for those working on farms. This stems from the fact that many young people in developed nations have left their hometown to pursue academic career or better employment. Secondly, with growing number workers choose to work on farms, they are likely to manufature more crops and agricultural goods which are fundamental to feed growing population in where they live as well as other countries. More importantly, young people tend to be good at technology which is of importance in order to enhance productivity and efficiency in farming work. Thus, the involment of young workers in agriculture is crucial for the security of food industry as well as beneficial for these people.

In sum, the negative images of farmers on media and from assumption of people may be the reasons behind the phennomenon. It is necessary for the young generations to take part in farming activities since it is fundamental for the development of the industry and generate decent income for them.