Fossil fuels (e.g. coals, oil and gas) are the main source of energy for most countries. However, alternative sources of energy (e.g. wind and solar) have been encouraged to be used by some countries.

To what extent is this a positive or negative development?

While there is no doubt that human civilization mainly relies on fossil fuels these days, various eco-friendly energy sources came into the spotlight as a substitute. Personally, I strongly believe that this trend has various benefits in terms of environmental protection as well as all lives on this planet.

To begin with, it is obvious that human activities of using for oil and gas have many harmful effects on various aspects. First, during the process of searching the oil and gas, thousands of rare species are dying out by losing their natural habitats as people exploiting carelessly to the untouched natural landscapes. To be more specific, they often cut down forests and contaminate the land and water by spilling oil which causes long-lasting damage to the wildlife and their home. Second, using such energy also brings a negative impact on human life. For example, fossil fuel consumed by transports and industries emits a whole host of toxic gas that contaminates the atmosphere. As a result, many people suffer from increased risks of diseases, especially in the respiratory system. I think, therefore, those mentioned drawbacks of fossil fuels are already good enough to develop alternative resources.

On the other hand, alternative energy sources like solar, wind, or perhaps water does not harm both lives and environments at all. Although those substitutes are not efficient as far as fossil fuels, the current speed of technological development would be enough to overcome the issue. On top of that, using such clean energy will bring back to the normal any wild animals in the dangers of extinction and contaminated natural preserves. Another meaning is that we can leave the clean earth for the next generation proudly.

In conclusion, although we are still reliant on fossil fuel to continue our civilization, developing and accepting of new clean energy sources are really necessary for the bright future of human and other creatures living on the planet.