Is freedom of speech necessery in a free society?

Do you agree or disagree with this view?

There is an ongoing debate over the necessity of free speech in a liberal society. Some people advocate freedom of speech as it results in individuals feeling liberal and heard in a community. However, others object to the idea of upholding the freedom of speech in terms of the possibility that some people may incite hatred, which is illicit in most democratic countries. In this essay I will outline the arguments of both sides.

On the one hand, freedom of speech is considered to be the hallmark of a civilized society in which people who are able to tolerate different kinds of view live. In addition to this, if free speech is not given to individuals, they might, with high probability, seek for other more destructive ways including riots. This, in turn, may lead to proliferation of dissidents in a country. For this reason it is important to preserve the maintenance of free speech in a society.

On the other hand, freedom speech may not be perceived in the same way by individuals. Some people may harm others by oppressively criticizing and as a result causing conflicts among the members of society. Moreover, some unscrupulous individuals may mislead others instigating undesirable rebellions in a country. Thus, governments should set certain limits to free speech in extreme circumstances mentioned above.

To conclude, freedom of speech is an essential part of a free society and therefore should be maintained. However, it would be of benefit for governments to set certain limits to free speech if it leaves the society under threat.