Friendships can be very meaningful and special, but also very complicated. What are the qualities of a great friend?

What are some things that can weaken a close relationship over time?

In everyone's life friendship is given a prominent role which one feels lucky to have and sometimes it also proven difficult to maintain it. This essay will discuss the qualities of a great friend and list some things that can even break a strong relationship over the period.

Some of the best qualities that one should check while finding a great friend are loyalty and understanding nature. Firstly, a friend who has these qualities will always prove worthy to have in any circumstances. A loyal friend never speaks badly about you even in your absence at the time of the conversation. Besides, a great friend should understand and support you especially during tough times. For instance, many people believe that a great friend can easily understand our feelings just by looking at our eyes, which is often true and everyone might have experienced this in their life.

Doubtful and dishonest nature are the things that can cause conflicts and may cause the threat of losing a close relationship. First of all, one's doubtfulness makes the other person in the relationship get terrified and even lessens the belief in their bonding. And a person who is always dishonest with the other person cannot build trust once it is lost. For example, some recent researches made on friendship has revealed that the majority of people have chosen to lead their life without a friend rather than having a worthless friend.

To conclude, things like doubtful and dishonest behavior dilute even a strong relationship. And qualities like loyal and understanding behavior sets a benchmark for a great friend.