More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day.

Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays work from home has become a popular trend, which provides an employee to work from anywhere instead of attending the office daily. There are both advantages and disadvantages associated with this policy, the positive aspects take precedence over the drawbacks.

Most of the employees feel more advantageous to do their work from home itself rather than going to the office. Firstly, it provides them the opportunity to work from any place, as a result, it relieves them from pressures they may face regularly at the office. Secondly, doing their company work at home itself gives them additional time as there is no need for their precious time for transport purposes. For instance, a recent survey made on job facilities mentioned that a huge amount of employees are willing to work from home than spending their money on transport expenses.

Although there are many advantages to working from home, there are also a few disadvantages to it. Basically work at the office usually requires the involvement of a number of employees forming into a team but it would be very difficult to accomplish a group task when every person of the group is located at distinct remote locations. For example, the success rate of completing a group project is quite less when it is done by work from policy than working at the office together. Female employees get more trouble because most of the women employees are married and do their household work on their own. Consequently, it increases their duties if they have newly born babies at their home.

To conclude, even though there are few disadvantages of this policy, there are a plethora of advantages that outweigh the drawbacks of the work from home policy.