Friendships that take place online are not as meaningful as those where people meet each other face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that meeting each other is more important than relying on digital communication so as to strengthen friendship bonds. In my opinion, I partially concur with this issue certain respects which I will explicate in the ensuing paragraph.

First, in this contemporary world, technological devices indeed set limitless boundary issues, particularly communication. Through social media such as video calls and messaging apps, our emotions and urgent information can be conveyed immediately. SAGE Journals revealed that instant media platforms enhance a sense of presence awareness where pre-existing friendship can be more solidified in real life. Moreover, individuals might seize a greater chance to develop intercultural friendship. As non-native students meeting different cultural backgrounds, advanced communicative apps enable them to explore shared interests along with revealing their cultural differences. For instance, Discord, a communication platform, provides room chat and voice chat to play with other gamers since 2015.

On the other hand, it is undoubtedly that direct conversation serves as the best experience to get along with one another, including facial expression and body language. It is proven that non-verbal cues may hinder friendship values from nuance and complex emotional expression. Thus, this results in either more effective personal or professional relationships. In addition, modern society should deal with privacy and security concerns, unauthorised access to sensitive information . This is because cybercrimes involving data leakage and identity theft unconsciously lead individuals to misunderstanding, embarrassment or even loss of trust.

Overall, it seems to me that stronger brotherhood values through face-to-face interaction would bring more experiences to avert individuals from lack of emotional intelligence as well as from potential reputation damage. That is provided that one should keep broadening his socially interactive relationship.