In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Along with this modern pace of life, many advanced technology gadgets have had a profound impact on human life. Moreover, self-driving vehicles to transport passengers such as cars, buses or trucks is what the future is projected to hold for. I am an advocate who reckons the demerits of the aforementioned idea might outweigh the merits.

Turning to the advantageous side of this issue, the most probable reason for this change is the accuracy in every aspect. On account of the automation of vehicles, it is unnecessary to have a driver on each car or bus. Therefore, the machine is the one that controls everything which is set by the human before. For instance, the buses will be set to grab the passengers every 5 minutes instead of 10 or 20 minutes according to the typical buses in case the drivers have any privacy problems. This will also save human resources as drivers can do any other advanced jobs but manual works.

In contrast, I believe the pros of this issue will be outweighed by the cons. Firstly, if the jobless rates will increase due to the substitution of such workers for advanced machines. Hence, it can either lead to the depraved culture or society’s vices. Secondly, as such autonomous cars and buses are all machines so malfunction is unavoidable. For example, sometimes buses can deal with problems such as open or close the entrance doors, the cash register may count the money wrongly, or even can cause some unwanted misleading and incidents.

In conclusion, the autonomous machine is one of the signs of modern life and a wealthy country. However, its impacts need to be carefully considered as the drawbacks can outweigh the benefits.