In the future, nobody will buy printed newspaper or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Printed books and newspaper contribute a huge part in our daily life. However, it is argued that sooner or later, they would be replaced by online platform since it is very convenient for readers to access to information without paying any fee. This essay agrees that readers’ habit shall change from using printed paper to online news. To clarify this statement, the author would like to discuss further below.

First, online reading platform has attracted many readers to change their habit thanks to the no charge policy. Therefore, the readers do not have to pay for the newspaper, instead, the only thing they need to do is to open a website, click on their favorite online news and the article relating to the topic they had chosen shall appear. According to the Guardian report, the percentage of citizens changing their habit from using printed books to online books thanks to the “no fee” policy has increased from 45% to 65% in the last three years. Hence, the no charge policy seems to be a good marketing strategy to make people turn their face on printed books and newspaper.

Second, the benefit from using online platform to read news has also help improve the quality of the environment. As have been mentioned in many reports, paper made from deforestation is one of the main factors leading to the destruction of environment and air pollution because there are less trees to maintain fresh air in the atmosphere. Consequently, reduction of using paper will decrease the proportion of air pollution and protect our environment. Denmark is a prime example in protecting the environment by encouraging its civilians to change their habit from using printed newspaper to reading them online. As a result, the amount of trees being cut in this country has experienced a downtrend, from 60% to 40%, between 2015 and 2020. Such policy has proven its benefit not only for saving a sum of money for Denmark, but also maintain the quality of the environment.

In conclusion, despite the fact that people have been used to the habit of reading printed news and books, they have changed it due to reasons relating to their financial base and the awareness of protecting the environment. Therefore, in the near future, with the development of technology, online reading platform shall replace the original habit and support readers to learn more about daily news.