In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As a result of technological advancement it is easier for people to search for a piece of information on a remarkable amount of network platforms. that’s why many people believe that in future physical publication won’t be bought, because online version of them are more affordable or free for reading. I tend to agree with this statement, because we will get used to read from screens for now on.

On the one hand, reading a book gives a big satisfaction with the way you turn the page. I remember when I was a child, one of my dreams was to have my home library, with a large amount of books, arranged on shelves in rainbow order. And my parents were trying to help me in reaching my dream, I had a lot of books, different genres, and I really read them, because I was putting on shelves just the ones I read. this is how I have fallen in love with reading. I suppose, if it was just online version of them, I wouldn’t enjoyed as much.

On the other hand, nowadays people tend to take care of our environment, and it means that cutting trees for paper is not as supported by general population as it was in past. More over because of the cost of physical publication, people don’t want to spend money on things that are cheaper or even free in online. For example, the hole series of Harry Potter books cost in average 50 euros, while the online one you can find for 5 euros or less. So, you will rather buy the online one and read on screen. In addition, screens aren’t as dangerous for vision as it was in the past, because you can change the luminosity and intensity of the colour in order not to harm your eyes.

This essay argued why people would rather buy an online book or publication, instead of printed ones. And I completely agree that with the help of new technologies we will get used with the screens and we will enjoy the reading on the gadgets.