In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without payment.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

As the development of the technology has been thriving to the next level; populations of book readers experienced a drastic drop nowadays. The reason behind this is because they can operate electronic devices instead to access almost every article on the Internet without a penny. In my opinion, I tend to agree that readers of physical books would decrease steadily henceforth; however, we have to pay to read these e-articles and e-books.

To begin with, electronic devices are rather cost-effective than printed materials. Although the price of a single electronic gadget isn't cheap, it is still worth purchasing anyway as its conveniences. People just need to carry a phone and then they can access any materials wherever they want. Instead of books, they are heavy and only a few volumes of them can be brought when going mobile. Moreover, the cost of technological devices tend to be more affordable and advanced which give people more accessibility. Hence, in future, drawbacks of non-digital materials will be exposed.

On the other hand, the author's benefit has to be ensured. These creators have to receive an adequate amount of funds to contribute their efforts continuously. In order to achieve this, readers despite either physical readers or e-book readers have to pay to make the creation sustainable. For instance, Audible.com is an online platform which provides audible books, a certain amount of subscription fees have to be committed in order to utilize its features such as studying vast amounts of e-books. These funds not only would be used for maintaining the website itself but also wages for creators.

In conclusion, the publication of newspapers and books will face a considerable shrink in the foreseeable future as its disadvantages will be overwhelmed by its competitors. Whilst the populace has to burden the salary to authors.