A gift (such as a camera, a soccer ball, or an animal) can contribute to a child's development. What gift would you give to help a child to develop?

Childhood is the most beautiful period in one’s life. Children are always more curious than adults. They keep questioning everything they observe or listen. Hence, it is the duty of parents and others to raise children with proper care and attention. When you gift a child with something, remember that it is going to contribute to their mental and physical development.

Books are one of the options as a gift. It can be a coloring book or a storybook. Children will begin to differentiate between different colors when they start coloring. Parents can read out stories for children make them read themselves, as this activity boosts the imagination skills.

Sports items are equally important as books. Games such as football or badminton are good for the physical health of a child. Make sure to practice these games outdoor so that children gets some fresh air and also develop a bond with nature.

One can gift a child with board games such as chess or snake and ladder. These kind of games help in the mental growth. Also these will help in developing ideas about numbers. Gifts such as mobile phones or video games are the least advised ones. Parents usually think that children can watch cartoons in mobile phones. But this will definitely retard the mental growth. There is also a chance of addiction to mobile phone usage which is very difficult to treat.

I also suggest to avoid gender biased toys as gifts. We are in a society where gender equality is one of the major issues. So if we can break the stereotype by not gifting our girl child with a kitchen set, or our boy child with an automobile, we are setting an example to others.

Thus I strongly recommend to choose gifts for children wisely as it is going to mould their future.