The government should allocate more funding to teaching sciences rather than other subjects in order for a country to develop and progress. To what extent do you agree? (IELTS Academic Test, 2017)

Science plays a leading role in our modern society today for a reason that scientific breakthroughs can pave the way for many other developments in numerous fields such as medicine, technology, agriculture, politics etc. With this, I do agree that the government should spend more funding on science education.

Firstly, the benefits of learning about science are enormous for youngster. Since science involves in all aspects of our lives, teaching science would help young learners understand much more about the world around them and the way everything works like where the rain comes from or why volcanoes erupt. By these knowledge, they can find answers for questions emerging from their curiosity by themselves. In the long run, this would gain them more confidence and more creativity in which their minds can produce interesting ideas that are actually able to solve existent social problems such as waste recycling, pollution, energy saving and so on. In addition, science also inspires students with other subjects. Even a single scientific equipment can liven up a topic and make it easier for them to engage with it.

Secondly, science also trains teenagers for life skills as problem-solving, researching, analysing, patience. These skills would certainly assist them to better encounter incidents coming up in their lives. On the plus side, early scientific education would give the juvenile a finer preparation and a clearer orientation for future careers.

In summary, science education for school attendants helps them become smarter and more proactive learners, develops important life skills and provides them with a proper instruction for future careers as well.