People are wasting a lot of food these days. What causes it and what solutions are possible?

Food waste could be one of unintended consequences originating from the industrialization of the agriculture and it has become more and more popular these days. In my opinion, there are many reasons as well as possible solutions as now would be discussed.

Food waste can come from many stages of the food supply chain. For instance, the selecting best quality products to meet customers' demand during the harvesting and producing processes or food losses during the transportation to distributors largely contributes to the global food waste issue. Additionally, the excessive purchase from households is also a major cause as people usually do not cook off all the groceries bought from supermarkets or they sometimes cannot finish the leftovers from excessive prepared portions and hence all the leftover food and expired groceries would end up being thrown away. Furthermore, food storage either in fridges at households or in large freezing containers at supermarkets cannot always guarantee the best quality and these food obviously would be wasted.

There are now many non-profit organizations all over the world with the purpose of cutting down the food waste through food aid projects for poor people. In this way, the food which anyway would be destroyed or thrown away in restaurants, supermarkets, food manufacturers, etc. would be collected and either directly devoted to poor people or would be recovered, prepared and lastly transferred to them. There are also plenty of campaigns to help people raise their awareness of the food waste and its effects on the environment and the economy as well as provide them with knowledge and methods to reduce and make the best out of the food waste.

In conclusion, food waste not only takes place in household consumption but in many other stages of the food supply chain. Therefore, there should be more and more various programs and campaigns from governments, global organizations and experts to educate people on the issue and ways to deal with it.