It is argued that longer imprisonment can reduce crimes, yet other people believe that this can be achieved with many other ways. In my view, crime reduction is not linked to the length of prison sentences but better support during sentences, better resettlement, etc. for ex-prisoners.

Firstly, the longer prison terms do not help to prevent offenders from re-offending but only delay it, especially minor crimes as burglary and fraud. Secondly, the longer convicts are kept behind the bars, the more it would cost the state to pay for the food, water, electricity, healthcare services, management, etc. Lastly, lengthening locked-up time would make it much harder for criminals to find jobs and to rejoin the society after the release, particularly the long-term convicts. And they therefore would probably feel left behind among surrounding people and then fall back to the cycle of criminal activities.

On the other hand, there are numerous better alternatives that should be applied to cut down the crime population. For instance, community sentences are reported to be more effective than short-term sentences. By this way, offenders would learn to deal better with drugs and alcohol. Additionally, medical treatment for mental disorders should also be provided for locked-up people as mental problems are usually the root of crimes. Furthermore, building a consistent contact with their families is also a good method to encourage them into better people. And more importantly, social rehabilitation for ex-convicts such as stable jobs and suitable habitations should be taken into a serious consideration as it could be the key factor to keep them away from their old track.

In conclusion, I do not see lengthening custodial terms is the best way to bring down the criminal rate but only better support from the government on matters such as mental treatment, social rehabilitation, community services for ex-offenders.