The government's investment in art, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead.

The public spending has always been a thought-provoking issue in all the societies. It is argued that the governments ought to allocate resources to community facilities rather than squander money on entertainment. Even though, I believe that art may be crucial for certain demographics of population, the prime concern of the authorities is rendering the decent living standards to the nation.

On the one hand, a comprehensive individual’s development is impossible without cultural interference. This means that professional career along with day-to-day chores are unable to provide entire fulfilment to a person. Throughout the history from the ancient Greek amphitheatres to the modern digital multimedia, humanity has craved for amusement that cultivates self-identification as a species. For example, during the Renaissance period many prominent inventors and discoverers scooped inspiration from art, which enables them to perform their works that left significant footprint in history. In other words, many modern social boons would have been otherwise impossible without existence of art.

On the other hand, some countries opt to contribute to art sacrificing vital funds that can be rendered to education, medicine and other important social institutes. In other words, entertainment industries may be exorbitantly expensive for the state budget, while the production of artworks is surely subjective. Proceeding from this, in terms of purely financial perspective, such governmental initiatives are highly unlikely to pay off. On the contrary, the returns from social benefits deriving from strong public services are explicit and encompass entire nation’s wellbeing. Thus, there is no doubt that community facilities reinforcement to be on the top of political agenda.

In conclusion, although no universal opinion exists to the question of whether country leaders should allot taxpayers’ money to public institutes or entertainment, I am of the opinion that a society is clearly better off from the well-funded public services.