Governments in many countries are urgently seeking ways to reduce unemployment in rural areas. What are the most effective ways to do this? Which measure do you think would be the single most effective step that governments could take?

Nowadays one of the most contentious topics is how the government should wrestle with the problem of high unemployment in the countryside. This essay presents possible solutions along with my own perspective on the most effective governmental measure.

The authorities of many countries, who pay heed to the lack of vacancies in rural areas, propose several remedies which seem to increase the level of employment. First of all, some local governments organize refresher courses as a significant share of people, who were fired, face challenges with the low level of their qualification or obsolete skills. This solution is on the brink of becoming more popular because of the appearance of artificial intelligence, which is suggested to change drastically human’s contribution to the work-process. Second, the government can subsidize local enterprises providing demand for their output and hence, giving work to thousands of inhabitants. For instance, purchasing steel, iron and other metals by the Russian Federation in the period of crisis supported several city-forming plants in Siberia. Finally, if the government found new markets for agricultural products or any other goods from rural employers, there wouldn’t exist problems with unemployment. Thus, the government should make agreements with foreign consumers about supplies from its countryside.

I am inclined to believe that the best measure which can be adopted by any country is to develop not only the most crowded cities but every region of the state. If the government can guarantee sustainable growth for all areas, new businesses will be launched, unemployment will cease to be a problem and the general prosperity will climb.

To sum up, in my opinion, there are a lot of effective ways how government can reduce unemployment in rural areas. At the same time, as far as unemployment is the ramification of economic policy, the implementation of these measures can be really arduous work.