Some people think that paying tax is already a huge contribution to society. Others believe that there are other responsibilities. Discuss both views and present your opinion.

Nowadays one of the most contentious topics is whether paying taxes is a significant contribution to social life or there exist other obligations. Debates over this issue seem to consist of two irreconcilable poles that are presented in this essay along with my own perspective.

On the one hand, it is a popular opinion that taxes as a really heavy burden should relieve people from other responsibilities. First of all, in the overwhelming majority of developed and emerging countries tax rates are extremely high and can exceed 50% of the family’s income (not only in households with one breadwinner but in dual-income families as well). Bearing in mind that it is a huge amount of money, some people consider that this contribution is enough. Second, taxes are mandatory for every citizen and can lead to imprisonment in case of tax evasion. Thus, there would be no option to avoid this obligation, even if a person did not support the government’s policy.

On the other hand, paying taxes can not be an excuse for ignoring other responsibilities. For instance, to live in a clean unpolluted city everybody should follow codes of conduct to throw litter only in trash bins or to participate in common events when all citizens clean up social venues. Moreover, living in a society without committing crimes requires every member not to break the laws. If people were allowed to violate the rules because of paying taxes, modern society would face a range of challenges which could be really hard to overcome.

To sum up, I am inclined to believe that every dweller should pay taxes and relate to this payment as a paramount contribution to social welfare. At the same time, to create a prospering society is crucial not only to pay this money but also to fulfill other common duties.