It is generally agreed that fewer people today write letters (through the mail or post) compared with the 20th century. What factors have led to this situation? What will the impact be on the lives of future generations?

Nowadays one of the most contentious topics is why people write fewer letters and whether there will be any ramifications of this trend. This essay will look at possible reasons for this issue and consequences of it.

There are several explanations why conventional mail became unpopular. First of all, the Internet and mobile phones development drastically altered all channels of communication. Cutting-edge technologies, which facilitated people’s interaction and gave everybody an opportunity to communicate with each other in a few seconds without any expenses, made paper letters approximately meaningless. There is no doubt that if this technological breakthrough happened earlier, people would reject letter via mail or post at that time. Second, more tech-savvy people become, more likely they trust social media to deliver their information. For instance, a postman can lose an envelope with a letter, a post-office can be flooded or person to whom the letter is addressed can move, meanwhile the social nets obviously don’t face these challenges and receive data without any obstacles.

Nonetheless, future generations can undergo some detrimental effects of total letter’s extinction. According to the scientific researches, if people start to print everything not to write by hand, the level of common literacy can significantly decline as brain makes a habit of relying on autocorrection. Moreover, in general paper letters are more sensitive and contribute to strong social links. Probably, feeling this connection through space and time is one of the reasons of increasing popularity of post-crosssing among juveniles.

To sum up, digital era has already changed a lot various spheres including communication through paper letters. Despite some shortcomings, new media age seems to enhance our daily routine at least making people closer to each other.