Who should pay for homes for people who lost theirs in disasters

Nowadays one of the most contentious topics is who should cover the expenses on the accommodation for people who lost their homes because of natural disasters. Debates about this issue spark bitter controversy but I am inclined to believe that the government should provide temporary asylums and permanent housing to everybody.

First of all, in the majority of both developed and emerging countries, people pay high taxes to support the government’s work and to spend this money on wrestling with national problems. Bearing in the mind that in some countries such as Belgium and France tax rates are extremely high and can exceed 50% of family’s income (not only in households with one breadwinner but also in double-income families), it seems obvious that in case of catastrophes the government is the one who should help its nation.

Second, the government’s policy should contribute to the sustainable prosperity of all people, and the accommodation as one human’s basic needs is a cornerstone of a person’s welfare. If everybody had a roof above his or her head, he or she would develop themselves and make a contribution to society. Thus, the government can prevent committing crimes (for example, robberies, which can be done for earning money to the mortgage).

Some people are convinced that national money should not be spent on personal things like private houses as it does not lead to any significant alterations in society. However, in my opinion, when natural disasters happened, all members of society should be more sensitive and relate to these expenses as to charity.

To sum up, I honestly believe that earthquakes, tsunamis, wildfires and other catastrophes which can cause a human's homelessness are problems of the whole nation without any exception. That is why the government should be responsible for the reconstruction of people’s homes.