Nowadays one of the most contentious topics among parents, foster parents and guardians is whether playing musical instruments is a paramount skill for any kid. Debates about this issue spark bitter controversy but I am inclined to believe that there are a lot of skills that transcend this one.

First of all, modern society requires a range of essential qualities and transferable skills from children which can outweigh playing musical instruments. For instance, every child is expected to be tech-savvy and hardwired for learning languages, and to have lateral thinking. This knowledge is crucial for successful, and if a child did not master them, it could become a deterrent for potential tertiary education or tempting job-offer. At the same time, a high level of musical education can be appreciated only in a narrow list of professional areas.

Second, the Internet gives millennials – the last generation – access to any occupations, online courses and distance learning. Thus, instead of musical courses that for a long time were taken everywhere even in the hinterland because of the abundance of musical instruments, in the digital era any pursuits and studies can be chosen by youngsters.

Some people are convinced that musical instruments are the cornerstone of the sense of beauty and the transmission of social memes. However, in my opinion, there are a lot of viable alternatives that can convey social norms to children. One of them is theater, which has become a popular leisure activity among Russian pupils.

To sum up, musical instruments are, undoubtedly, one of the primary parts of any culture and it is vital to hand the ability to play them down between generations. Nonetheless, I entirely believe that the desire to play the piano, the guitar, the flute, etc. should be indicated by children without parental pressure.