Governments should ban smoking in public places , even though this would restrict some other people's freedom . Do you agree or disagree?

Smoking is an evil and it is crippling our society at a very rapid rate. Hence the worst part is we are not doing enough to halt this crisis and in order to prevent society from this disaster the government needs to take serious steps. However, some people comprehend that it would be an unwise decision if the administration makes any rule to ban smoking. I entirely disagree with this argument, and in my view strong laws should be enforced on smoking openly.

There are Nemours compelling reasons to support the argument why smoking in public places should be prohibited quickly. First negative is attributed to the health effects of smoking in the public area as the trend of smoking publicly does not only have lethal impacts on the health of smokers but also non smokers suffer from various life taking diseases such as blood cancer, failure of respiratory system. Latest pieces of research papers suggest that cases of lung cancer are increasing invariably these days. Suffering of the environment from smoking is also a major concern as toxic gases are exhibited, while cigarettes are lighted and these glasses make it impossible for one to breathe in fresh air. Moreover, children can quickly adopt this doomed habit if anyone smokes in front of them as children have vulnerable minds and they always learn from their surroundings and elders. Hence, if smoking in public is restricted then very few children will adopt this addictive habit. Unquestionably, while any pregnant mother smokes, it could have life threatening effects on the health of the developing baby in her embryo. According to the World Health Organization, chances of mortality among the new born babies are more if their mother smokes three times per day during the pregnancy.

To conclude, although some individuals opine that smoking in public is legal as they are law abiding citizens, nothing is more important than the safety of the public and environment. Therefore, smoking in open areas should be banned permanently.