Governments should not have to provide care or financial support for elderly people because it is the responsibility of each person to prepare for retirement and support him or herself.

It is argued that authorities should not need to provide care or support finance for senior citizens because it is each person's duty to plan for retirement and self-supporting. Although I agree that personal welfare should be an individual's responsibility, I also disagree with the point of view that government should not support money for elderly people.

There are several reasons why I disagree with this notion. Firstly, some old people who are poor, live alone and do not have any children often cannot depend on anyone. Secondly, the cost of living is rising day by day and older people are too weak to work. This may lead to the fact that those senior citizens are unable to meet the need of their lives. Thirdly, nowadays many elderly people have to suffer from a great deal of diseases, namely heart attack, cancer, zona and many other diseases that are really hard to treat, that is why they need help to afford the cost of treatment. Finally, I think it is governments’ role to support older people as they have been paying taxes throughout their lives and for this reason, old people have the right to take one part of the money back when they need.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that supporting financially for elder people may affect national’s budget. Many old citizens succeeded from their work before, therefore, they have enough money to pay for what they need. Besides, there are many more elderly people do not need financial support from the authorities such as those who have children and are taken care by their offspring. In terms of economic perspective, if every senior people were received monetary provide, this would result in a financial burden on governments’ shoulders. Furthermore, many people believe that it is more important for authorities to invest money on education and healthcare rather than elderly people.

In conclusion, governments should take responsibility of financial support to senior citizens and at the same time, it is individual's responsibility to save money for his or her future.