Governments should not have to provide care or financial support for elderly people because it is the responsibility of each person to prepare for retirement and support him or herself.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The senior citizens should be received health care and financial support from the state. While I accept that this may suit many people, I believe that these elderly need to be responsible for their retirement by themselves.

On the one hand, Since old people devote their life and strength to the development of the country and when they get old, they lose the ability to work. This means that their chance of employment is lower, compared to the younger generation. As a result, they country needs to be responsible by providing monthly subsidy to the old people for maintaining their life. Next, In order to show the value , the quality and the appreciation of the country to every citizen, especially the old generations, the state support is a must. This means that this country has a high living standard and everyone in the society is taken care of.

On the other hand, the older citizens should prepare before they stop working because they don’t want to be dependent on others. If they save up money before they retire, they can support themselves and do whatever they want such as travelling, cooking or taking up new hobbies. In addition, by doing some light work which contain less physical involvement like guards or florist, they can contribute to country even after retiring.

In conclusion, it is certainly true that the government should financially support and care for the elderly but the seniors still have to be accountant for their life after retirement.