Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Transportation and Communication are two indispensable aspects of the development of a country and both are interdependent. At the outset of this new millennium, quick and safe transportation is essential to commute and for the establishment of the trade in a country. However, there are a few people who say that Government should spend money on railways while others condemn this viewpoint and assert that roads are of prime importance. This essay will scrutinize both virtues and will give a sophisticated solution.

Advocates of the first viewpoint say that rail commuting is comparatively safe. The number of road accidents and casualties are almost negligible in many countries. In addition, rail networks offer cheap traveling. Also, it is environment-friendly and causes a pollution to a minimum extent. Moreover, the capacities of railway enhance its benefits and lend a helping hand to outweigh it than other modes of transportation.

On the flip side, the road network is accessible to each place which is impossible for the railway tracks. Furthermore, private transportation can only flourish on the roads and it will make populace independent. On the contrary, railway tracks assists in solving the shortcomings of Traffic congestion as well as Air Pollution. Last but not least, rail tracks can carry a plethora of passengers along with goods at a one time which is not achievable from roads.

Mulling over the topic, from my notion, Albeit roads and highways serves a plenty of functions which are crucial to us but advantages of rail tracks outweigh the advantages of roads as the former is more reliable transportation system.