Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people argue that governments should focus on improving railways compared to roads. In my opinion, I completely agree with this idea since it can have a lot of positive impacts on society as well as the environment.

By spending money more on railways and making them better, there may be a lot of benefits to people. Firstly, there will be fewer train accidents due to better rails, which can save a lot of passengers’ lives and make them feel they are secure. Secondly, better railways can contribute to the speed and comfort of trains, so people can travel to their destinations in a short time comfortably without sacrificing their precious time and feeling tired. Finally, enhancing railway conditions can guarantee that trains will be more punctual than ever before, which is a huge advantage to commuters, who need to go to their work in time.

In addition, putting more budgets on railways can reduce our carbon footprint and significantly lower human impacts on nature. Due to improved railways, people will rely on trains more as their favourite mode of public transport. Trains nowadays use sustainable electricity as their main source of fuel, releasing no greenhouse gases, in comparison with non-renewable fossil fuels used in cars and buses. Moreover, one train can carry a lot of passengers due to its carriages while we need a great number of cars and buses to carry the same amount of them, meaning that a considerably low amount of carbon will be emitted, which can have undeniable benefits to our planet.

In conclusion, owing to the great benefits to society and our mother nature, I fully believe that governments allocate more funds to railways rather than roads.