Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some proponents indicate that government bodies shouldn't invest in roads but in railway lines. Personally, I completely disagree with this view since roads are more convenient for the public to travel and it foster economic growth in rural areas.

To begin with, roads create more convenience for the society than railways. That is because it takes less time for individuals to travel to their destinations, especially to locations that are rural. Train stations are usually constructed in cities and areas that have high population density, therefore, people who live in small towns or hamlets would have to travel to those places before reaching their wanted destination, for example. If those persons drive their private cars, they will have to travel less and could arrive sooner.

Moreover, rural sites' economy could be boosted with the development of roads. As visitors could visit those regions more conveniently by automobiles, the number of visitors would increase, and local people could create revenue by selling souvenirs and providing recreational services. In addition, roads could help local people to deliver their crops or local goods to other regions. Cao Bang, a Vietnamese mountainous area, for instance, used to be a poor region before the government build roads to their villages and create an income for several men and women. As the economy in those areas grows, the national economy would grow as a whole.

In conclusion, I believe that national and local authorities should allocate resources to develop roads rather than railways because they provide convenience for travelers and boost economic growth in certain regions.