Many people use social media to get in touch with other people and know about news events. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that in recent years, more and more people communicate with the others and keep themselves updated by utilizing the internet. While using the social media might put people in risks of security breaches, I believe that the benefits of this tendency are more significant.

Users’ data could be compromised by using the social media. Hackers could steal their personal information, and sell their credit card numbers or online bank account passwords to third parties, for example. The consequences of this would be a lose in money, which could be the saving for important purposes of users.

On the other hand, the internet provides conveniency and offers people a wide range of information. In terms of the convenience it brings to users, communication between people and people has become easier than ever owing to the development of technology. Communicating apps such as Zalo or Facebook, for instance, provide platforms where citizens from different nations could talk or message each other at any time and in any location. Additionally, corporations utilize those apps to hold meetings and make important decisions without wasting time to travel to a specific location. For the information sources, instead of buying newspapers and wait for the next morning to update news, people can now keep themselves updated by clicking on the latest news on their mobile devices. The social media helps people update their lives with their family and friends and vice versa. Especially youngsters who have huge admiration for idols or actors, they could see pictures and videos of their idols’ daily lives, for instance.

In conclusion, although using social media brings about positive effect, I argue that the convenience and the amount of information that it provides to users are more significant.