Many young people today change their jobs or careers every few years. More advantages than disadvantages?

It is true that in this modern era, youngsters tend to switch their jobs after a few years of working. Even though this tendency might provide them with diverse working environments, I believe that it could also lessen their opportunities for future jobs and their relationships at work might not be durable, which is negative overall.

To begin with, changing working places constantly could bring young people different types of experience. They therefore could develop a wide range of skills, which could be helpful when applying for jobs that have many requirements. Data analysts that used to work as programmers, for instance, could utilize their knowledge about numbers and technology to support their work. Furthermore, after experienced several types of occupation, they might find the one that suits them best and pursue it in long-term.

However, the ones who switch jobs frequently might not be valued by employers and they would find it hard to build a strong connection with people at workplaces. Employers of large enterprises usually value employees who commit to work for them in long term. They therefore would avoid hiring those who have a history of changing jobs after a few years, which shows no dedication to the previous jobs and tend to happen to their companies. Furthermore, corporations often spend a lot of time and money on employing the suitable person for each of their positions, especially high position such as CEO. Therefore, if youngsters keep switching their jobs so frequently, they will lose their opportunities in large companies. Moreover, the relationships between those people and their colleagues would be breakable as they spend little time to know each other. No valuable connections, as a result, would make young people become lonely and have even less chances to develop themselves.

In conclusion, while constantly changing careers could be advantageous to young people, I argue that its disadvantages prevail over its benefits.