Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Public transport is the main mode of travelling for the middle class people. Government has to allocate more budget for the railways than for roads. This essay will argue why government should grant less money towards roads.

Public transport such as railways should be developed more and the government has to spend an additional amount of money for this. One of the reason that why railways should be allocated with more money is they were the fastest, safest, cheapest mode of transport. It is easy to travel a long distance in trains rather than in any other automobiles. In addition, our country has a great number of working class people who are capable of spending only a small amount of money. Railways are the highest income producing sector for the government. For instance, travelling about 50kms may only charge up to ten rupees which is affordable for all the classes of people and many individuals utilize these leading to an increase in income. Railways can also satisfy upper-class people as they provide AC coaches. For these reasons, the Railway budget should be more than the roads.

Travelling through roads is a bit typical issue considering the safety of the person and vehicle. Most of the automobiles which travel on road are private and should be self-responsible regarding any accidents. Some of the reasons may be roads are less convenient than the railways in order to travel for a long time. In addition, during these days the petrol charges are hiked and in future, it is assumed that a common man cannot use his own vehicle to reach his destination. For example, travelling through roads may consume a lot of time and also expensive. For these reasons, there should be less money spent on roads by the government.

In conclusion, there should be more budget assigned for railways compared to roads. This essay argued on the reasons why more money should be spent on railways other than roads. I completely agree with the given statement as spending more money on railways by the government is beneficial to almost every class of people than roads.