A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including for food and research.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The exploitation of animals has become a contentious issue these days. There is an increasing number of individuals who believe that animals should not be used in any way; however, others say that animals need to be employed to satisfy several needs including food and research. In my view, animals have to be used to overcome the shortage of food and to gain nutrients that cannot be acquired from plants

On the one hand, some people believe that animals should not be harmed in any way. One of the reasons for this view is that animals need their family members and feel pain as other living beings do. When a mother duck, for instance, is killed, her children, who are heartbroken at the loss of their mother, may find it very difficult to find food. Thus, animals need to be protected from poaching and killing for food so that they can live the life they deserve.

On the other hand, there are other individuals who argue that we need animals for food and to test new medicines on; therefore, humans need to exploit animals for such crucial purposes. This is because nowadays food is scarce and new medicines are being developed. Thus, if animals are not used for food and research, a large number of people may have to die due to lack of food and side effects of newly developed medications. This is why using animals to satisfy human needs is totally justifiable.

In conclusion, the exploitation of animals for various purposes has become a hotly-debated topic. While some people believe that it is inhuman to use animals to satisfy human needs, other argue that animals are needed to be used as food and in scientific research. In my opinion, animals should be employed to fulfil significant needs, such as food, of the growing population of the world.