With a growing world population one of the most pressing issues is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people think that genetically-modified foods offer a viable solution to this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Increasing number of people on the earth introduces new challenges. One of the most important questions to resolve is the need to ensure an appropriate amount of food for all the people. One of the feasible options shared by several individuals is the genetically-modified food. To my opinion genetically-modified food brings more issues than benefits and, thus, should not be considered as a fair approach.

The best solution should meet three main criteria, those are: the food should taste well, it must be safe to eat such products and the production need to be cost-effective. While the genetically-modified food satisfies the first criteria, there is no clarity on its safety and cost-effectiveness. From safety perspective this option requires further research. It is well known that genetically-modified food may provide serious adverse reactions. Scientific research has identified numerous side-effects, including an allergic reactions and other deteriorations to the immune system. Doctors all over the world report significant growth of cases where women cannot have children. And new generations are facing more and more new diseases. Environmental issues and genetically-modified food are named as possible reasons for this problem. Until there is a clear and sufficient evidence of safety, genetically-modified products still raise reasonable concern.

As far as cost-effectiveness is concerned, the production of genetically-modified food does not provide for an economically reasonable solution. The laboratory research requires certain investments. In order to provide the earth population with enough food, new manufacturing plants must be built with a specific expensive equipment installed.

In conclusion, although genetically-modified products are considered as an answer to the growing demand of food on our planet, the use of these products require further research to ensure full safety and cost-effectiveness. Safety of these products has not been proved in a large scale clinical trials. The production of genetically-modified products requires significant investments. For all these reasons, as of today, this solution has not been justified as a feasible option.