The high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of the advertising but not the real need of the whole society in which they sell. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, there are many advertisements on television or on the streets. Some people think that advertising boosts the sales and it encourages people to buy products unnecessarily. Personally, I partly agree with the statement.

On the one hand, many advertising companies use famous and popular actors or singers. It is because they generate attention. Thus, people, especially children, buy goods that their favorite stars advertise, although they do not really need the products. Additionally, on the television screen, a product may look gorgeous and good quality. As a result, people often buy goods without enough consideration. Consumers may not actually need them but they buy them impulsively soon after they watch the advertising. Furthermore, as numerous customers purchase a particular advertised product, others may be affected by the trend, even if the products are not what they need.

On the other hand, many people have their own spending habits, which cannot be changed by advertisements. In addition to advertisements, there are some other factors that lead to the increase in the sales of consumer goods. In the modern society, the living standard has improved and people desire better material life. They have more disposable income to buy what they like, while in the past, they could not afford to do so. Meanwhile, manufacturers update their products constantly to meet people’s increasing need.

In conclusion, it is true that advertising impels people to buy more than they need in some cases. However, it is difficult to say that everyone is influenced by advertisements in making their buying decisions. People’s increasing demand and income also contribute to the high sales.