In the past, people store knowledge in books, while now they store on the internet. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

People always gained knowledge from books or magazines in the past; however, with the development of technology and network, increasingly more individuals use the Internet to store and search information. In my opinion, there are more merits than drawbacks regarding the trend.

To begin with, one of people’s concerns is that there is much information on the Internet without supervision of related departments. Thus, some youth who do not have complete ability of judgment will be misguided by the misleading information on the Internet. For example, there are so many kinds of novels and books, which are difficult for adolescents to identify whether it is detrimental or not.

In addition, one obvious merit is that it is convenient for everyone to acquire the information and knowledge whenever and wherever they need. Meanwhile, various methods can be taken to obtain the knowledge, such as using iPads, smartphones or laptops. Moreover, citizens can also store an amount of information on the Internet without plenty of writing, which is more time-consuming.

Another meaningful advantage is that people in poverty can have easy access to knowledge if it is available on the Internet. Because some books may cost expensively which the poor cannot afford, using the Internet is a better and economic way for them to acquire knowledge.

In conclusion, although too much information and news on the Internet may give people some misleading orientation, the merits clearly overweigh the disadvantages. As long as there is a supervision of the Internet, the concern mentioned above will not be a problem.