Consumption of the world's resource (such as oil,fresh water,etc)is increasing at a dangerous rate. What are the causes of this increased consumption? What can people do to reduce it?

There is an increasing trend in the amount of world’s resources consumed and it has risen to a dangerous level. I believe that the overly waste of resources by citizens and the larger demand of resources in social life are the main reasons.

The first reason why consumption of resources is increasing is that many resources do not be used in an economic way. Thus individuals make a large amount of waste in daily life since they cannot realize the value of the resources and they think supplies are infinite which cannot be used up. For example, when people wash their faces or brush their teeth, water will be used through the whole process. Even though they do not use the water all the time, they still let the water run.

Another cause is that persons have a larger demand of resources nowadays. In the past, there were not many factories for industry and petroleum. Today, however, the public pursue a higher standard of life, so they need more of the world’s resources (such as oil and woods) in order to complete their industrial construction and meet their demand of production.

It is important for people to pay more attention to resources protection, so measures should be taken to save resources. Firstly, governments should make a policy about taxation to supervise citizens on saving water so that they can get a better understanding of water’s preciousness. Secondly, factories should be limited in oil exploration and tree felling. Lastly, individuals should also plant some trees regularly. In such a way, they can protect the resources better.

In conclusion, although the consumption of the world’s resources is inevitable, the measures mentioned above could effectively slow down the increase of consumption and save the resources.