Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Illiteracy is certainly a topical issue among the majority of countries in the contemporary world, which can have detrimental consequences on society and the individuals affected. There seem to be two main causes and a number of damaging effects, which will be analyzed now.

Perhaps the main cause is difficult living conditions that are faced with many people and families. This is because people living not only below the poverty level but also no-go areas that violence is taken place frequently are more likely to leave schools in order to be safe or make money for their poverty-stricken families. Take families dwelling in suburbs as a notable example, which statistics show the illiteracy rates are tripled in such vulnerable families compared to their counterparts living in major cities. A further well-known cause can be parents with little schooling. This leads their children to be loath to pursue their schooling due to a lack of a literate role model.

The effects of this problem on individuals can be quite devastating. Firstly, damaged self-esteem is experienced because of their inability to write and read which are basic life skills in the modern world. This can be especially damaging for children who often tend to compare themselves with their peers with much more formal schooling. A further widely observed impact is experiencing poor economic conditions as a direct result of reduced job opportunities and entering into lower-quality jobs. In Iran, for instance, those with little schooling can be found considerably in lower-level paid jobs such as sales and driving jobs. The consequences of illiteracy on society can also be quite serious. Struggling with understanding societal issues labeled as a political and economic illiterate is perceived as a major effect that can lead society to be static rather than dynamic.

Overall, it would appear that living in abject poverty and extremely violence areas as well as having parents with low literacy skills are more likely to be the main causes of illiteracy, and effects are felt in terms of unemployment, low self-esteem, and lower-quality jobs.