Illiteracy has traditionally been viewed as largely a third world problem. However, it is becoming apparent that in countries such as the USA and Australia, illiteracy is on the increase. Discuss possible causes for this and its effect on society.

It is incontrovertible fact that today, illiteracy became a pressing issue in all over the world. This problem now increasing in the developed countries since, previously this issue has been only seen in under developing countries. This essay examines the possible causes behind it along with its effects that are being witnessed on the society.

To embark with, there are two main reasons related this problem. Firstly, the people have negative attitude towards the studies. For example, in the developed countries government provide the many type of facilities to the people. If they have not job then they give them money for their expenses and then they feel they have not need of study. Because, the government give them everything without education. Secondly, in this era, a lot of people migrate to these countries which increase the level of illiteracy in that countries. Due to, those people has not any knowledge about their native language and they counted the uneducated population.

In addition to this, it has some effect on the social and economic aspects. If people will uneducated it as effect on society like they will start to do illegal activities because they will have not any knowledge related to any . Moreover, they will have not any job also they will earn anything for them which can lead the poverty in these countries.

In conclusion, illiteracy has reached in those areas where anyone never thought about it. And, majority of this happening because of globalisation and facilities which is effecting the development of Australia and USA countries.