Immigration has a major impact on society. What are the main reasons for immigration? To what consequences can it lead?

The trend towards people moving to foreign countries to settle down is increasingly prevalent, which then has a major impact on society. In my opinion, while the main reason for this is to develop a better life, the consequence including overpopulation can be more damaging.

In terms of better lives, people take advantage of immigration to search for a better living condition due to a wide range of opportunities offered. These opportunities include job positions, welfare, and accommodation, all of which benefit people to heighten their living standards. For example, Africans, who often face a lot of difficulties such as poverty, accommodation deficiency, and food scarcity, usually leave their country and start a new life in America. Consequently, people are more likely to have a better place, a well-paid job, and even no longer concern the problem of lacking food on a regular basis.

Apart from the reason expressed above, this poses a problem to people in their society because of the effect of overpopulation. Individuals, who settle down in foreign countries, increase the density of population and also raise several issues such as the lack of residential areas, the overcrowded population in metropolises, and traffic congestion. This development adversely affects immigrants because they are likely to experience these difficulties in the first place. For example, immigrants, transferring to India, tend to live in low-quality houses and apartments, or even slums because crowded population makes it virtually impossible to find a proper place to live in.

In conclusion, immigration is becoming evident nowadays due to the seek for better lives. However, this could be a major problem in society because of the effect of overpopulation, which causes immigrants to experience an indecent life.