The impact of environmental pollution on human health

As a leading ecologist Barry Commoner (2022) “Environmental pollution is an incurable disease. It can only be prevented.” Water, air, and land are the three essential elements on which all people’s life depends, have become more and more polluted. This essay will discuss some effects that environmental pollution could have on people’s health.

To begin with, human health suffers from many diseases as a result of air pollution. Air pollution may lead to poor air quality in both urban and rural areas by any chemical, physical, or biological factor. Air pollution has a wide range of health consequences for people. These are classified as either short-term or long-term consequences. Short-term effects include pneumonia and bronchitis which causes discomfort in the nose, throat, or skin. The short-term effects of this air pollution can be bothersome but are still milder than its long-term effects. Air pollution's long-term impacts might continue for years, a lifetime, or even the death of a person. Heart disease, lung cancer, and respiratory disorders are common diseases from this impact.

Water pollution, in addition to air pollution, has a significant influence on human health. The direct discharge of industrial waste into surface water, which people consume, has resulted in significant diseases. Examples of these diseases’ impacts are nausea, lung irritation, skin rash, vomiting, dizziness, diarrhea, and even death. According to the UNESCO 2021 World Water Development Report, almost 300,000 children in the world under the age of five, or 5.3% of all deaths in this age group, die from diarrhea each year as a result of contaminated drinking water, poor sanitation, and poor hand hygiene. As a result, water contamination is a real-time hazard to the health of those who drink polluted water.

The last effect of environmental pollution on human health is soil pollution. Population growth, with massive amounts of man-made waste or even polluted water, also leads to soil pollution. People frequently report weakness, weariness, headaches, skin and eye irritation, coughing, wheezing, and chest discomfort in the short term. Some of the more common diseases associated with the longer-term effects of soil pollution include leukemia, liver cancer, skin problems, and muscle disorders. Therefore, individuals must be aware of the relevance of soil to their health and take protective steps to avoid major diseases.

In conclusion, environmental contamination has become a major worry in the effort to save our world. Given the negative consequences on people’s health, some concentrated efforts should be made to address this issue as soon as possible.