The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Some people say that excessive usage of consumer products has adversely affected the environment, contributing to environmental degradation to some extent. While this problem is predominantly caused by packaging products such as plastic bags and bottles, I, however, believe that proper solutions need to be taken into consideration.

The tendency of using consumer goods is increasingly prevalent within society, facilitating people by its convenience and comfort. For example, since plastic bags has first been introduced, citizens take advantage of that to take away their food, beverages, and other products that could not be held by their bare hands. However, plastic bags pose a problem to the environment because of its durability, and it is often a daunting task for scientists, trying to decompose this product as well as finding alternatives. As a matter of fact, billions of pounds of garbage are dumped into the ocean every year, and most of it is made of plastic. Consequently, this problem could make marine species accidentally digest plastic products, causing them to gradually die out due to the shortage of proper food.

Apart from the problem expressed above, several solutions, which could minimize the outcome of using consumer products, should not be dismissed. First, governments should encourage citizens to use biodegradable products because they are thought to be more environmentally friendly, which could be recycled and reused over and over, unlike plastic ones, generally lasting for decades. Second, schooling and parental guidance should include the lesson of avoiding using plastic-made materials as well as help children to differentiate recyclable and non-recyclable products so that they could raise their awareness and prevent themselves from using in the first place.

In conclusion, the negative impact of consumer goods has been proved to influence the environment. However, governments and educators are of vital importance to help people solve this problem.