An increase in production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes and possible solutions?

The environment is damaged by the overproduction of finished goods. This is predominantly because of increment in population and world turned towards materialistic nature but, there are several solutions which can be taken by the government.

Firstly the reason why manufacturing of consumer product is booming because of surge in population. This is to say that as the number of people increases their needs also increases and thereby the demand. Secondly peoples attitude towards the product and the service has changed in other words the people are becoming more materialistic so the people purchase the product only for showing off to the people. For instance, 30% of people buy over budget cars only seeing to their neighbours.

To take this paradigm, there are two effective solution of reducing the production of finished goods. One way is that government can force the manufacturers to produce reusable product by this the people could able to use the goods more than one time so individuals would avoid buying new products. Another method is about awareness of people. The government should teach the people about the environmental problems so that people would understand the damages which could happen to the environment if they use more product and they also start using eco-friendly product and start recycling to it.

In conclusion, even though, the making of consumer goods is increasing, the government’s efforts to force the manufacturing firms to make reusable products and teaching the people about environment problems are the effective dealing with the issue.