An increase in production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes and possible solutions?

There is no denying that the natural environment is being damaged and one of the causes of this is the increase in the output of manufactured consumer goods. This essay will discuss the reasons for this and put forward some solutions to this issue.

To begin with, the increase in the production of consumer products harms the environment in two ways: the methods of production and the product attributes. To maximize profits, in many corporations, the price of the mechanisms always takes priority over the damages they cause to the natural environment. For instance, to reduce the cost of processing the superfluous waste from the factory, they decided to dump those toxic things into the ocean which leads to the death of aquatic animals and vegetation. Furthermore, many types of products such as chemical-by products, disposable goods are harmful to the natural environment because of their poison and decomposition ability.

Actions must be taken as soon as possible to minimize the negative impacts of consumer goods on the natural environment. First, companies should utilize eco-friendlier materials. For example, instead of using plastic bags, they can use cloth bags when selling products to the customer. Moreover, many governments are also encouraging the innovations and development of the more sustainable mechanism of products. To give an example, any state in the U.S offers tax breaks and incentives for businesses using renewable energy, and some firms are even allowed to purchase green energy at cheaper prices than traditional fossil fuels.

In conclusion, there are several reasons that the environment is severely affected by the increase in the production of consumer goods. To settle this problem, governments and companies must join hands to make the production lines more environmentally friendly by utilizing greener materials.