With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree?

Over the past decades, the petroleum industry has entered a golden age. Scientists argue that our natural resources would be dried up in next fifty years. This essay agrees with the above view because of the drawbacks it brings to people. The essay will first look at how energy companies can damage to the local ecosystem and then discuss why we should use renewable resources.

Initially, many argue that energy companies should be granted access to previously unexplored areas, but this would be a huge mistake because of the potential for environmental damage. Drilling for non-renewable energy resource is incredibly damaging to the local ecosystem. For instance, China government has planned to access the shale gas in her western region. However, the process involves the breakdown of a large amount of deep rock under a high pressurized water. It dries the under-water and causes desertification. As a result, mankind faces the threat of extinction.

Taking these risks becomes pointless when you consider that there are plenty of viable alternative energy sources available. Solar, wind and tidal energy could replace our reliance on oil and gas completely within just 15 years if the industries were given enough funding. CEO of Solar City and Tesla, Elon Musk, recently demonstrated this by drawing a very small square on a map of the United States and stating confidently that small area could power the whole of the country if covered with solar panels. He also stated that we could further reduce our need for oil by building electric cars rather than those with combustion engines.

In conclusion, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that sensitive areas should not be made available to fossil fuel companies because of the environment risks and the fact that our future energy needs can be met by renewable energy.