individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

The increasing global warming, pollution, and other environmental problems have pushed people to believe that only the government and big companies can solve and make any difference in the situation. However, I believe that a blend of togetherness is very essential to overcome as sometimes the government is incapable to influence our choices, as well as personal, can also make an impact big changes.

First, it is a social duty of an individual to pay attention to the environment and surrounding places. As the government can only make laws and whether to follow or overrule them is a personal choice. For instance, people can create awareness among the society and neighborhood so that people are more concern about this problem. For instance, in my society, only a single newspaper is allowed to be delivered and that needs to be shared among the family as a step to reduce paper waste. Overall rather than depending upon the government, persons, these days have enough power and knowledge to improve things around.

Secondly, regardless of the individual effort, government, big companies, and institutions should tell people to follow certain measures as sometimes people only follow those rules which are imposed with a heavy fine. For instance, Dell India has forced its employee to come via public transport or carpool as a set to reduce traffic jams and issues related to parking. Moreover people now days spent more time in offices than at home, so in such a case making any change in the habits can be easily followed at home.

To conclude, however, the increasing environmental problems is a hot topic of debate over which the government role is can just cover a small part. Although I think a plan which contributes both individual and government involvement is a must to overcome as both have a certain degree of power over the actions taken.