An increasing number of children are overweight which could result many problems when they grow older both in terms of their health and health care costs. Why do you think so many children are overweight? What could be done to solve this problem?

Obesity has become an alarming issue for most people these days, especially the children; this may result in hazardous health issues in near future. Few people think that an individual's food habit plays a vital role in defining his health, however in my opinion this is not the only factor contributing, and also there are several ways to tackle this issue.

We cannot deny the fact that these days most children have excess body weight. There are several reasons for this condition, food habits - indulging the intake of outside food will result in weight gain since it is not healthy; heredity - sometimes genes are responsible for causing weight gain; deficiency of certain nutrients - the child might look healthy from outside but could be lacking essential nutrients which could be liable for his weight. Majority of parents are working and hence have limited time; due to which the child is deprived of attention, as a result there is no one monitor his eating habits. Apart from these factors, the importance of physical activity in one's routine has been misunderstood and less looked at. The parent never emphasizes their child for regular exercise or any sport activity. For example, in metro cities such as Mumbai, the parents hardly have time to spend with their children, as a result they do not know about their child's day to day routine and food habits and most of them are obese.

Furthermore, in order to deal with the issue of overweight, the government must organize health and awareness campaigns in schools and colleges, where parents and students can participate and gain the insights of healthy lifestyle and proper nutrition. Additionally, some new protocols must be implemented on the sale of junk food such that people restrict themselves in eating it. To illustrate, the tax rate could be increased in fast and junk foods, such that people feel its expensive and will think before purchasing it. Apart from this, the schools can focus more on the physical training in their curriculum and should organize regular sports or exercise sessions, this would help a student indulge in physical activity. To exemplify, a prominent school in Ahmedabad, Gujarat, has a daily morning exercise session reserved for physical exercise which is mandatory for all the students.

To conclude, notwithstanding, the growing the number of overweight children in current times, with the help of government and school authorities we can tackle this issue efficiently. In my viewpoint, certain proactive efforts from educational institutions and government would help the world cope up with this.