An increasing number of professionals such as doctors and teachers are leaving their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problems does this cause? What solutions can you suggest to deal with this situation.

Nowadays, a significant number of highly educated professionals such as doctors, engineers and teachers from poorer countries prefer to pursue higher education and opportunities in developed countries leaving their own country. This may lead to shortage of highly skilled professionals in home country. The reason for migrating to a foreign country is mainly because they observe diminishing of quality education in their home country in contrast to an increase in quality of life in developed countries. This essay will discuss how the country’s economy and Industrial sectors are affected due to this and counter measures such as improving education standards and infrastructure which helps to retain highly educated professionals.

Firstly, it is the occupations that need special skills to suffer the worst. For example, in recent times, a concerning number of people are diagnosed with cancer and doctors specialized in oncology are not easily available. Situation is similar in the case of technology where there is a shortage of expert engineers, scientists and researchers whose unparalleled capabilities that lead to innovation and excellence in the respective fields. Another impact would be to the economy, where a huge amount of tax the government could have otherwise received from these highly salaried professionals. There are also industries that deals with luxury where the main focus is on the high net worth individuals which mostly are either businessmen or highly salaried professionals.

The primary solution to this problem would be to ensure quality education right from the early stages of the educational curriculum where one is motivated and driven in the right direction. Secondarily, Improvising infrastructure and other facilities will encourage people to stay back as it would be easy to hold back people who already have a sense of belonging to their motherland. Country should also try to bring more job opportunities for specialized and rare skills. This will also help in giving highly qualified professionals a second thought before they decide to give up the comfort of living close to their loved ones.

Often, it is this bunch of skilled professional who make the nation economically stable and competent among other developed nations. When these people see that home country can offer them a better life and much more-what they always dreamt of, It brings down the rate of migration to developed countries up to an extent.